Book Review: The 5 Love Languages of Children

Did you find this helpful? Please share!

I was recently asked to review the book “The 5 Love Languages of Children” by Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell. The book “The Five Love Languages” was originally written by Gary Chapman for couples, but found that the same principles could also be applied to how you love and treat your children.
The premise of the book is that there are five love languages and everyone “speaks” one more dominantly than the the others. Whatever your child’s “primary language” is, that is the one that will be more effective at communicating with the child on an emotional level, and will thus make him/her more responsive.
The five love languages are physical touch, words of affirmation, quality time, gifts and acts of service. There is a whole chapter for each of the love languages as well as chapters on discovering your child’s language and how they affect discipline and learning.

     Here is a basic summary of the five languages, though you will want to read the book for more detail and how to apply them effectively.
     1. Physical Touch–These children will be more responsive to physical contact, such as hugs, a pat on the back and even play-wrestling.
     2. Words of Affirmation–This means the children need to know you are proud of them and that their efforts are appreciated, even if they don’t do something perfectly.
     3. Quality Time–This child responds more to getting to spend time with you. Even if it’s just tagging along with you to the store you are doing something together.
     4. Gifts–These don’t necessarily have to be expensive, or even bought gifts. Just a token that shows them you were thinking about them while you were away.
     5. Acts of Service–This includes things like packing their lunch before they go to school, helping them with homework or bringing them a snack.
     All of these things are important, of course, and are generally appreciated, but certain things mean just a little more than others. And these principles can be applied to any relationship–especially marriage. There is even a chapter on Marriage and the love languages and I think the original book was written for marriage.

So I found it a very useful book and look forward to applying the principles as my children get older. For now, they really need them all equally. I’m still trying to pinpoint my husband’s “love language” and even my own. I’m sure I will be holding onto this book for a while, and may even try to get him to read it!
*I received this product in exchange for my honest review through Mom Spark Media. All opinions expressed are my own.*

Did you find this helpful? Please share!

Similar Posts


  1. I need to get this book. My daughter is a combination of Physical touch, she loves kisses, hugs and back rubs and words of affirmation, she beams when we praise her.

  2. These five love language points seem obvious but it’s always good to get a reminder in order to step back and see how you are doing and if there is any area you can improve upon. I think these are especially helpful to keep in mind when taking care of a marriage too.

    1. I actually never really thought about these in categories until reading this book. And actually I think there is another book about the love languages between couples and this one was actually an offshoot of that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *